Sex Offender Registration Laws

More than 50 years ago California began requiring dangerous sex offenders to register with their local law enforcement agency, allowing local law enforcement the ability to keep track of convicted sex offenders in their community.

In May 1996, the California Legislature increased the public's access to sex offender information with the passage of Megan's Law.  Megan's Law was named after 7-year old New Jersey girl (Megan Kanka) who was raped and murdered by a known child molester who had moved across the street from Megan's family without their knowledge.  In the wake of Megan's murder, California increased the public's access to sex offender information with enactment  of (then) section 290.4 of the California Penal Code.  In October 2000, the Federal Campus Sex Crimes Prevention Act 20 U.S.C. 1092(f)(1) amended Section 170101 of the Violent Crime Control and Law Enforcement Act of 1994.  The Campus Sex Crimes Prevention Act required sex offenders who are required to register under state law to also provide notice of their enrollment or employment at any institution of higher learning in the state where he/she resides, starting in October 2002.  Institutions of higher learning were thereafter also required to provide a statement in their Jeanne Clery Annual Security Report detailing where members of their campus community can obtain information concerning registered sex offenders.

SBCCD Sex Offender Registration Requirements

Every person who is required to register in California as a sex offender and who:

  • is enrolled as a SBCCD student (including Extension classes), or
  • is a full/part time employee with the SBCCD with or without compensaton, including volunteer, or
  • carries on a vocation at the SBCCD for more than 14 days, or for an aggregate period exceeding 30 (total) days in a calendar year, shall register with the campus police department.

A campus affiliated sex offender shall notify the SBCCD Police Department within five working days of ceasing to be enrolled or employed, ceases to carry on a vocation with the SBCCD, or change of address.

SBCCD Sex Offender Registration Procedures

Campus affiliated registration of sex offenders shall be conducted at the SBCCD Police Department.  Persons required to register shall do so in person Monday-Friday during normal business hours.

To view the sex offenders in your community go to:

Megan's Law, or San Bernardino County Sheriff's Dept. Offender Search