

Institutional Effectiveness Advisory Committee (IEAC)

Chancellor's Council Recommendation

To: Diana Z. Rodriguez, Chancellor Date: 11/2/2021

From: Institutional Effectiveness Advisory Committee

Re: IEAC Recommendation #2021-01 | Disbandment of TESS Executive Committee

Please accept this communication for review and discussion by the Chancellor's Council.

At its meeting on October 28, 2021, the IEAC members unanimously voted to disband the TESS Executive Committee as recommended by the Chief Technology Officer, Luke Bixler. The discussion leading to this recommendation included the points provided below:

- TESS Executive only meets 3 times a year, with the primary charge of reviewing the District Technology Strategic Plan.
- The IEAC is also charged with reviewing the District Technology Strategic Plan, which creates redundancy.
- If we were to keep TESS Executive, the CTO would be providing up to 5 updates in the IEAC before the next TESS Executive meeting.
- Since the majority of the members in TESS Executive are also members in IEAC, there would not be any value in continuing the TESS Executive Committee.
- TESS Executive function of prioritizing TESS projects would now become the responsibly of the IEAC.
- The current TESS Executive workgroups, including Distance Education Coordination Council (DECC) subcommittee, District Applications Workgroup (DAWG), and Management Information Systems (MIS) subcommittee, would report directly to IEAC.



Institutional Effectiveness Advisory Committee (IEAC)

Chancellor's Council Recommendation

Thank you for your consideration of this recommendation, which was approved as indicated below. We look forward to a response from Chancellor's Council.

Chancellor Council Response:

J. Feist moved to approve the IEAC's recommendation to disband TESS Executive subcommittee. Vice Chancellor Hannon seconded the motion.

AYES: Torres, Hannon, Horan, Thayer, Babino, Burns-Peters, Diaz, Feist, Gamboa, Guillen, Del Rosario, Boone, McLaren, Mello, Nikac, Thomas

NOES: B. Bailes

ancellor

ABSENT: Chancellor Rodriguez, Keynasia Buffong

ABSTENTIONS: None

11/2/21

Date



Institutional Effectiveness Advisory Committee (IEAC) Chancellor's Council Recommendation

IEAC Recommendation #2021-01 | Disbandment of TESS Executive Committee **Formal Vote**

	2 01111111 1 000		
	Representation	Member	Vote
1.	District Director Research, Planning & Institutional Effectiveness	Christopher Crew	Aye
2.	Chief Technology Officer	Luke Bixler	Aye
3.	Dean of Institutional Effectiveness, Research, and Planning, CHC	Giovanni Sosa	Absent
4.	Dean of Institutional Effectiveness, Research, and Planning, SBVC	Joanna Oxendine	Absent
5.	Human Resources Representative (appointed by VC HR)	Joe Opris	Aye
6.	Faculty, CHC (appointed by Academic Senate President)	Jeff Schmidt	Aye
7.	Faculty, SBVC (appointed by Academic Senate President)	Davena Burns-Peters	Aye
8.	Management, CHC (Accreditation Liaison Officer. appointed by college president)	Keith Wurtz	Aye
9.	Management, SBVC (Accreditation Liaison Officer. appointed by college pres.)	Dina Humble	Absent
10.	Accreditation Committee Chair, CHC	Keith Wurtz	Aye
11.	Accreditation Committee Chair, SBVC	Celia Huston	Aye
12.	Classified, CHC (appointed by Classified Senate President)	Brandice Mello	Absent
13.	Classified, SBVC (appointed by Classified Senate President)	John Feist	Aye
14.	Professional Development Coordinator or designee, CHC	Kashaunda Harris	Absent
15.	Professional Development Coordinator or designee, SBVC	Rania Hamdy	Aye
16.	Confidential Group (by position, EA Office of the Chancellor)	Heather Ford	Aye
17.	CSEA Representative, CHC (appointed by CSEA) – April 11th Meeting	Artour Aslanian	Aye
18.	CSEA Representative, SBVC (appointed by CSEA) – April 11th Meeting	Kay Dee Yarborough	Aye
19	. CSEA Representative, DSO (appointed by CSEA) – April 11th Meeting	Myung Koh	Aye
20	. CTA (appointed by CTA)	Guy Martin Hinrichs	Absent
21	. Black Faculty & Staff Association (appointed by BFSA President)	Allan Erving & Ariel Davis	Aye
22	. Latino Faculty, Staff, & Administrators Association (appointed by LFSAA Pres.)	Alma Lopez	Absent
23	. Associated Student Government President or designee, CHC	Madeleine Boone	Aye
24	. Associated Student Government President or designee, SBVC	Paul Del Rosario	Absent